John Jeans CBE

John Jeans


John chairs the Boards of Imanova and Edinburgh Molecular Imaging, and is also a non-executive Director of Renishaw plc, ProMetic Life Science Inc. and ProMetic Pharmaceuticals Ltd.

He was previously the Chairman of Cardiff University and a Director of the University Employers Association. From 2009 John was Deputy Chief Executive of the Medical Research Council, a member of its Audit and Risk Committee and chaired the Trustee Board of MRC Technology until 2014.

An advisor to public and third sector organisations, he was appointed by the Prime Minister in 2014 as the Life Science Champion for medical technology. John leads Innovate UK’s Stratified Medicine Advisory Board and the KTN’s Health Board, and has contributed to advisory panels for the MRC, EPSRC, NIHR, NCUB, NPL and the Wellcome Trust. He serves on several Government bodies including the Ministerial Committee on Medical Technologies, was an inaugural member of the Science Advisory Council for Wales and a founder Trustee of the Francis Crick Institute. He is Chair of the Strategic Advisory Panel for the Singapore Government’s Diagnostics Hub, a member of its Advanced Manufacturing and Engineering Advisory Panel and its Health and Biomedical Sciences Advisory Council.

In an industrial career spanning 35 years he held senior international leadership positions in global companies including Smith & Nephew, Bristol Myers Squibb, Johnson & Johnson and Amersham plc. John headed the commercial function of GE’s Life Science business and was the Chairman of its UK Healthcare Company. His domain experience ranges from medical devices and therapeutic pharmaceuticals to in-vivo and in-vitro diagnostics; encompassing research, product development, manufacturing and commercialisation.

John is engaged with international, national and local charities including the Africa Research Excellence Fund and is Co-Chair of the Clare Foundation. He was awarded the CBE for services to Life Sciences, Healthcare and Science in 2012.

Professor George Crooks OBE

Joanne Boyle

Shirley Sharp

Stuart Deed

Don McIntyre

Chaloner Chute

Elizabeth Brooks

Miriam Fisher

Cate Green

Dr Sanna Rimpiläinen

Dr Jay Bradley

Robert Fender

Jessica Faulds

Veronica Arias

Kara Mackenzie

Laura Rooney

Dr Leigh-Anne Hepburn

Gemma Teal

Ciaran Morrison

Sneha Raman

Angela Tulloch

Stay in the loop

Sign up to our newsletter to receive regular news, information and updates.

Field is required
Field is required
Provide valid email address